Female Masons

I used to think freemasonry was for men only. Just one of those things. Women join the Order of the Eastern Star, men become masons, right?

There are many groups of masons that would shudder at the thought of admitting women. This is their right. A private sorority can vote to keep men out. A private college (like, say Morehouse) can only admit men. No crime there. The crime would be if male schools conspired to keep Knowledge away from women on the whole.

Similarly, there’s no reason why women can’t share in the priceless masonic wisdom that has been passed through the centuries. Conventional lodges should be able to stay all-male if they choose. At the same time, women who are free, well-recommended, and want to improve themselves in masonry should be allowed to if they choose. This system has made so many men truly wiser and stronger over the years, I suspect it would do the same for women, too.

So, I’m cool with the idea of female masonry. Again, I am a first degree Entered Apprentice right now. As I progress in the craft, we’ll see if my stance changes. I don’t think it will, but feel free to check me on it.

14 responses to “Female Masons

  1. I asked an older mason about co-masonry yesterday. He’s been a Prince Hall mason for 56 years, and he’s one of the most knowledgeable people in the state hands down in terms of masonic information. He said that female masonry is irregular because to be a mason, you have to be “a man, free born, of lawful age, and well recommended.” That is what we learned, still, my basic opinion about the benefits of masonry not being withheld from anyone stands.

    I must admit, I want women in my lodge about as badly as Lyndon Johnson wanted black people integrated into society. Still he knew it was the right thing to do and he fought for it.

    I have no plans to fight for women to get in. Women can be masons already, as I pointed out above. I simply plan to seek and share the light. We’ll see where that takes us in the 21st century.

  2. I am interested in Freemasonry but there is that one thing holding me back… well more than one… first, I am a female. Second, I have and currently still am looking into the order of the Eastern Stars, but what I have been able to find out thus far is that it is charity and good sisterhood. My interest in the Freemasons is of course both but I am most interested in learning, truth, and having a deeper understanding of the wisdom of time and space. I love to be charitable yes of course, but my motivating cause is the knowledge and truth. I am left with the impression that this does not take place withing the order of the Eastern Stars? Can someone help?

    Oh and third, I have no relatives in either.

  3. All of the deep knowledge that you are seeking is available online, in libraries, and in bookstores. Masons may be able to point you toward the info you are seeking, but they can’t withhold it from you. There are just a few fraternal secrets that masons guard jealously, but the light of wisdom was meant to be shined as far and brightly as possible. Just tell someone what you’re looking for.

  4. kim: bit of a clarification for you but of course it is something you probably already know. The Order of the Eastern Star is not a “sisterhood,” but an organization of both men and women. it is true the majority of members are women but those of us who are men and Easter Star members are proud of it.

    oh it is Eastern Star, not Eastern Stars

  5. I too am a female deeply interested in becoming a mason. I’ve heard it is a practice more common in Europe than here in the US of A, though correct me if I’m wrong.
    I am a descendant of a Mason, he was my Grandmother’s uncle, Jim Dowell, and from what the females I’m left with in my family say, he was pretty high up, I’d love to know more about him, though I don’t know where to start, however, I’m sorry, I got off-topic there.
    I would love to know more about females in masonic history, though I don’t know where to begin my search. I know there are so many misconceptions about masonic traditions out there, and for some reason, in my soul, I hunger for the knowledge about the masons and the knowledge the masons could teach me. Something has always pulled me toward it, even as just a child, the masonic stickers on cars fascinated me, even before I knew what they meant. Now I don’t know if this speaks to some deeper connection unknown within me, but I can’t let this go.
    Is there some way you could point me in the right direction in my search? Do you know where and how many lodges allow females into their order? Is it more common in one area/region than in another? Is there some place I can go to find the answers to my questions and know they are the true ones?

  6. I couldn’t tell you too much other than to check this site out: http://www.co-masonry.org/Site/English/. They definitely have lodges in the United States. The Prince Hall tradition doesn’t officially recognize them, but if I may speak as an individual, there’s no doubt in my mind that they can point women toward finding greater light in masonry. Seek and ye shall find. God bless your journey.

  7. to the young man who is an EA you just begun your journey and yes you will change your mind once you progess in the craft. Freemasonary is order that has been around for yrz as well as the O.E.S. The order is a well respected order for men to be better men. I was raised and proud of it. in due time you will see that and when you do then u will know and fulfill your ob in the craft.

  8. Bro. Scarbrough,

    I was an Entered Apprentice when I wrote the original post–raised in 2008. I’m a Prince Hall Mason, and we don’t recognize masonic lodges that admit women. Still, in my soul, I don’t think the women in the world who have been raised are hurting anything. In fact, if they are masons, they are probably doing a lot to make the world better.

  9. I am the eldest daughter of a Prince Hall Mason and an Eastern Star, the neice of the Worthy Matron, the grand-daughter of a Master Mason and an Eastern Star. As you can see, my family is rich with Masonic and Eastern Star memberships. My father has two daughters and no sons. When he passes on, there are no heirs to his wisdom and the family tradition dies with him. From the time I was knee-high, I’ve asked him what the symbols mean, why does he always go to that “little white building with blue writing on it”, and why do all the boys in the family wear certain things at funerals. As I got older and continued to ask questions, I learned that there were things he either couldn’t or wouldn’t explain. So, I did my homework and learned that 80% of the males in my family are Masons. My parents have two daughters, no sons. When my father dies, the Masonic tradition dies with him. I want to be the one to carry on the tradition. I want to be immersed into the weatlh of knowledge and wisdom that all Freemasons are privy to. Can someone point me in the direction that I should go?

  10. For those who enjoy the ritual aspect and would like to be in a Fraternity, The Builders of The Adytum and The Fraternity of The Hidden Light are both Fraternities based on the teachings of Paul Foster Case who was a Mason. lvx

  11. Listen, I am a mason myself and I love and cherish and respect everything that I’ve learned and still learning. But young bro as an EA once you actually go fully through you will get more knolewdge, light and understanding on females and masonry. Also, to the people who are not masons can only assume they know about masonry unless they become one.

  12. Respectfully brother, I was raised 3 years ago and still don’t see a reason why the light of masonry needs to be shrouded from the fairer sex. I won’t share any of the secret art or arts with anyone male or female who’s not a mason, but I’ve never yet heard a satisfactory reason why women can’t be masons except “women just can’t be masons.”

  13. What groups would one reach out to in order to be educated more on female Masonry and requirements to jooin such an elite group.
    Sincerely
    Joslyn

  14. The modes of recognition doesnt make a mason but “His” obligation and as you progress you will understand why that women isnt accepted in the craft.

Leave a Reply

