Don’t Say “Happy Yom Kippur”

As a Christian, I pledge a distinct allegiance to the Old Testament, the 39 books of the Hebrew Bible. 

Yom Kippur is the annual Day of Atonement and the most important holiday on the Jewish calendar. And I always assumed that was Hanukkah, silly me.

I mean, Jesus lived two thousand years ago. If this is year 5769 on their calendar, he observed this solemn fast. Anyone can correct me if I’m wrong on that.

I respect religious holidays. Bank and government holidays aren’t too shabby either. During these unique times, people get dressed up according to the custom, eat the foods, sing the songs, reflect. It’s enough to make me want to wish the next Orthodox family I see a “Happy Yom Kippur.” But if I said that they would look at me like I was a silly black baptist boy from Detroit. They may even call me, “that one.”

Since the day involves contrition, sacrifice, and repenting, “happy” doesn’t quite fit, plus it’s not what they’ve been wishing each other since the 3760s B.C.

We should instead say “Gmar Chatima Tova,” thereby wishing your Israelite family an easy fast, which is the best kind.

By:


One response to “Don’t Say “Happy Yom Kippur””

Leave a comment