Truth About Freemasonry

Last Saturday, November 1, 2008, I was raised to the sublime degree of master mason in Boyer Lodge #1, Prince Hall Free and Accepted Masons of the State of NY. I am officially a freemason now–duly initiated, passed, and raised.  It has been a very positive experience so far. I can see how people get out of it what they put in to it. Masonry can really make you a better person–walking uprightly, keeping passions under control, spreading love, having reverence for God, making good use of time–that’s what it’s all about. There were some side conversations in my first communication (monthly meeting) that I could have done without, but I blame that on the men, not masonry.

Contrary to what many haters will tell you, I still haven’t had to worship Satan or otherwise compromise my integrity as a Christian to be a part of the lodge. A lot of people think masons participate in un-Christian behavior. They may say that I haven’t seen it yet because I’m “only” at the 3rd degree. If I made it up towards the 33rd, I would find out about the blood-drinking, luciferians oaths, and other perversions.

Maybe, but since masonry is built on a foundation of virtue, it’s unlikely that the higher teachings go against the fundamentals. Like Jesus said, “a house divided against itself cannot stand.”

I’m more convinced than ever that Prince Hall Masonry, which takes many cues from Ancient Free & Accepted Masonry, is worthwhile. I think I’m supposed to speak out (at the appropriate times) and defend the Craft when the uninformed talk bad about it. I have grasped it/it has grasped me in such a way that I can be an articulate spokesman. More importantly, I want to be a living example like a lot of the greats who have come before.

One response to “Truth About Freemasonry

Leave a Reply

