Everyone is Related

When I heard that Barack Obama was related to Dick Cheney, I wasn’t surprised.

Al Sharpton was taken back when he recently discovered he was related to Strom Thurmond, but I could have told him that years ago.

I have long held the theory that all people on earth are blood relatives. In most cases, we are very distant cousins at best, but still…

A relative is someone with whom you share a common ancestor. Your brother is your brother because you have at least one parent in common. The further back you go ancestrally, the more family members you have. We all have 2 parents, 4 grandparents, 8 great grandpanents, 16 great-great grandparents, and so on….

I have a picture of one of my great-great grands–he was born into slavery in the United States. The only thing I can say for sure about the other 15 is that they had kids and some of their kids had kids. Since the numbers get bigger as you go further back, it becomes more and more likely that we share a common ancestor with someone (or everyone) else if you go back enough generations.

Scientists may doubt the veracity of the Adam and Eve narrative in the Bible, but no one with a knowledge of genetics would deny that humans are essentially all cousins.

We are a human family. So let’s act like it. Not a disfunctional family who sues one another, loans money at exhorbitant interests rates, and kills in cold blood. I’m talking family family–sacrifice, love, fellowship, laughter, protection.

I expect you to do all of those wonderful things for me, cuzin. Feel free to start now.

2 responses to “Everyone is Related

  1. Lol,
    I thought the same about Al Sharpton,lol, but you are right we are all related under the eyes of God. As far as ancestry goes I don’t think we really want to start looking at it in that view, because then doesn’t it mean that we are commiting ancest?

Leave a Reply

