Organ Donation

When my mother died, she donated her eyes. If I had known that before the funeral, I might have peeled back her eyelids to see what was left….

Not really, but I do think it’s fascinating and a great gift. Apparently, you can help up to 10 people regain sight with one pair of eyes.

Organ donation is a personal decision. The Bible doesn’t say anything about it that I know of. My mom decided to give just her eyes. I’m pretty sure I want to give everything they can use. Heart, kidneys, pancreas, lungs, liver, intestines, skin (just not off my face, please), tendons; whatever would go to good use, let them use it.

Why not?

It’s not like I would be able to haunt the recipients and make them do things against their will. That only happens in movies. Right?

3 responses to “Organ Donation

  1. Seth-

    My deepest condolences. I am so sorry I missed the funeral and all the family time.I would have sent flowers if I had known about it.

    As you know you and your family are near and dear to me.

    All of my love and well wishes.

    I hope to see you sometime soon,

    Cynthia

  2. As a Funeral Director, I really would hate for you to donate all of that; it only makes the embalming process harder. Just stick with the eyes. NO LONG BONES! Thats when we have to use pvc pipes to hold your flapping limbs.

Leave a Reply

