11:11 on the Clock

I just opened my cell phone and the time said 11:11. This hadn’t happened to me in a few weeks, but it has happened a lot. I know I’m not the only one.

Steve Pavlina has given the most thoughtful treatment to the subject I’ve read to date. Check out his article on 11:11. http://www.stevepavlina.com/blog/2009/02/1111/

In a nutshell, when I see 11:11 on the clock, I take it to mean that whatever I’m doing is right on time. 11:12 means I’m falling behind and need to get on track. For me, 11:12pm almost always means drop everything and go to bed.

Do you experience the 11:11 phenomenon? What do you think it means?

4 responses to “11:11 on the Clock

  1. Good question. I see 1:23 and 2:34 are signs that it’s time to continue taking steps to improve yourself. The numbers are increasing like stairsteps. You’re moving in the right direction, you just need to continue to go further that way. Don’t be satisfied with the progress you’ve made so far. Take some more step onward and upward, and there’s no reason to wait to make those moves. In a minute, it’ll be too late.

    That’s my opinion. It’s not in the Bible, or even in any articles or books that I’ve seen, just Seth’s thoughts on a phenomenon.

  2. I was getting 11:22 (which is my birthday, November 22nd) all the time until my birthday came a few weeks ago. Now I still get 22. I believe it has spiritual significance, and have been in prayer to get revelation on what it means. I’d be curious on your opinion, though.

  3. Well, Rasheda, I must first admit that I don’t really know what it means. Still, I have always found this sort of thing fascinating, and I have given it some thought, so just take my opinion and test it against what God is telling you or what a real expert might think.

    I see 11:22 as telling you to “double it.” Whatever goals you have, double them. Whatever you think it would take to make you happy, you might want to consider doubling it. The number 22 just says “double it” to me, especially next to an 11. Just like everyone, you are the main person holding yourself back in life. Most of our self-imposed limits are completely arbitrary, so why not expand them? If you set a goal to run a 10K race, but you think the marathon would be too much, God may be telling you to go for the marathon and let God make it happen for you. If you want to contribute a chapter to a book, maybe you should go ahead and write your own book. And if the publishers offer you 10% royalties, tell them you won’t accept a penny less than 20%. See where I’m going with this? Ephesians 3:20 says God is able to do immeasurably more than we ask or imagine according to the divine power that is at work in us, so don’t be afraid to raise the standards all the way around and let God double it.

    Hope I’m right!

Leave a Reply

