10 Facts About Booker T Washington

1. He was the first African-American to be invited to the White House–not counting the slaves who helped build it, or the servants who cleaned slop jars before plumbing was installed there in 1902.

2. At age 16, he walked from Malden, West Virginia to Hampton, Virginia to go to college. Google maps says its a 386 mile trip.

3. He arrived at Hampton Institute dirty, hungry, and completely penniless. Miss Mackie, the head teacher, had little pity for him, and told him to sweepย the floor on his way out. He swept it 3 times, mopped it, and washed the walls. She was so impressed, she let him work his way through school as a janitor.

4. Born a slave, his father was a white plantation owner he never met.

5. He was the first African-American to receive an honorary degree from Harvard.

6. He was the first African-American on a U.S. postage stamp and even had his face onย a limited-circulation U.S. half dollar.

Not too tough on the eyes, either.

Not too tough on the eyes, either.

8. He was known for saying: “I don’t want white men as brothers-in-law, but I do want them as brothers.”

9. His blood pressure was twice the normalย level. A tireless worker, at age 59, he collapsed from exhaustion in New York City and was carted back to Tuskegee, Alabama, where he soon died.

10. The “T” stands for Taliaferro.

99 responses to “10 Facts About Booker T Washington

  1. well from my pont of view booker t washington was a kind mind thinking person and well this site helpesd me on my project and got me and a so i say thank you

  2. thanks alot i have to do a class project and have 10 facts about him,at school kids went on pc and searced for their person too and i just searched for 10 easy facts about him

  3. This Was very helpful because I am actually doing a project on SIX black history presidents, And this info was very,very helpful. THANKS SO MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. I am doing a report in school on him, and this really helped. I did not know that much about him, and see he is a truly amazing person. Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. thank you so much this helped a whoooooooooooooooole lot better than wikipedia!!!!!!!!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ :*

  6. Spot on with this write-up, I absolutely believe that this amazing site needs far more attention.
    I’ll probably be back again to read through more, thanks for the info!

  7. Hello to every body, it’s my first go to see of this blog; this website contains remarkable and truly fine information in favor of readers.

  8. You are so cool! I don’t think I’ve read a single thing like that before.
    So great to discover somebody with a few genuine
    thoughts on this subject. Seriously.. thanks for starting this
    up. This site is one thing that’s needed on the web, someone with a bit of originality!

  9. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This
    is a very well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

  10. I’m doing a project on him and these really helped out a lot! thx.
    Are you a history teacher or something or do you just really like Booker T.?

  11. Thanks for giving my facts about booker T.Washington thanks๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜

  12. Hey, that was very good information and that helped my project. Thank you so much. I just have one question, what is your profession? I am always curious as to how people make sites and put information on them. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

