Prayer of the Day May 12 2009

Ten Things I’m Praying For Today:

1. For my wife’s health and safety while she spends the next 2 weeks leading a group of Brooklyn 8th graders on a service mission to South Africa. Especially considering she’s 5 months pregnant with my daughter!

2. For me, my son, and my Uncle Dave as we make the 2900 mile drive from New York City to Los Angeles next week. She’s going to South Africa without me, and I’m driving cross-country without her. God, thank you for that sweet reunion May 30th!

3. A thought of love and compassion goes out to my brother and father. Also, my sister-in-law and my other family all working hard back in Detroit. And, all the rest of my family in different places, everyone else in Detroit, and everyone everywhere….

4. For Zion Hill Baptist Church in Los Angeles, where I’m the pastor-elect. Help the members get/remain on the path of Christ, make the most of the space we have, and let us continue to grow together in wisdom and grace!

5. For myself (again) moving into being a pastor full time. Give me a lot of health, vitality, energy, creativity, humility, integrity, and courage to be the best person I can be in the service of humanity!

6. I am praying for Shaun King, lead pastor of The Courageous Church in Atlanta. Seemingly random to call him out like this, I know, but I like what he’s doing. That little thermometer is going to make it to $100K!

7. Happiness and laughter.

8. My family’s finances. I’m thankful for God’s bounteous blessings. Let me be genuinely happy for others who are doing well. Let me be smarter with money!

9. All the loved ones we’re leaving in NYC. All the people who watched Li’l’ Seth, the married couples we hung out with, co-workers, church family, college friends, and all the people who relied on Isis and me in one way or another. Thank you for this one of a kind city, with its endless possibilities!

10. That whoever reads this will take at least 10 good seconds to pray because prayer really works!

11 responses to “Prayer of the Day May 12 2009

  1. If “prayer really works”, then why not pray that all the sick children in the world be made well? Surely accomplishing that would be a far greater good than your list of 10 requests put together.

  2. Robert,

    To see all the world’s sick kids made well would be something great. I’ll add that to the list, and you can join me in praying for it if you want.

    And my list is not “10 requests.” They are positive thoughts, statements of gratitude, expressions of love and hope, and requests, too.

  3. That’s progress, I suppose. But if all the sick children don’t get well, are you going to maintain that “prayer really works”?

  4. If I think and pray about kids being healed, I will begin to see it happen around me. More people praying, more kids healed. What other proof do you need?

  5. That’s amazing! Would you subject this claim to some kind of scientific scrutiny in order to verify the healing wasn’t a result of random chance?

  6. I’d be willing to do that, but there has been at least one scientific study proving that people who are prayed for heal better. Here’s a link to that info for what it’s worth. http://www.plim.org/PrayerDeb.htm

    At the end of the day, I’m a person of faith. Most of the successes of my life have come as a result of me concentrating on a problem, then turning over to a higher power to solve. The “how” of it is sometimes miraculous, but does that make it impossible or unreal?

  7. Dear Robert,
    I must say that your argument hit some pointers, however I must say that you have mix all the Christianity beleifs into one huge bowl. I say this because you seem to beleive that prayer has something to do with the”scientific scrutiny”…I want to be the first to tell you that there’s nothing ordinary about praying it actually works where God sees fit. I am quite sure he [Pastor Pickens]didn’t pray for those things to take place in the order it did but he prayed and kept the faith. See, the key behind a positive prayer result is having faith. We beleive in death although we are not sure of the time frame solemly because we have seen it take place to our loved ones, would you say that has something to do with scientology as well? ” Wishing on a star” is a form of prayer, praying that all the children in the world can be cured is a positive thought process but then how would the scientist/ doctors find vacines to keep the other half from being sick? Basically prayer work, all it takes is “a tad” of faith. I wrote a paper during undergrad on Mayor Bloomberg, and one thing that fascinated me while doing the research was the way he kept his faith and the value/recognition he gave to prayer while he worked as a parking attendant.
    Like Pastor Pickens advised “take at least 10 good seconds to pray because prayer really works!”

  8. Actually, most studies indicate no improvement, or even a slight worsening, of the condition of those who are prayed for. See:

    Prayer’s Power to Heal Strangers Is Examined

    Are there demonstrable effects of distant intercessory prayer? A meta-analytic review.

    The “how” of it is sometimes miraculous, but does that make it impossible or unreal?

    We should be skeptical because millions of people in faiths contrary to Christianity claim the same “miraculous” results.

    But if “prayer really works”, then think how many people would be saved by Christ Jesus if you could substantiate this claim inspite of all the scientific studies to the contrary. It would be powerful evidence that the Christian faith is true.

  9. Queen of Sheba wrote,

    I say this because you seem to beleive that prayer has something to do with the”scientific scrutiny”…

    Pastor Pickens, unwittingly or not, invited scientific scrutiny with his metaphysical claim that “prayer really works”. If you can propose a better method than science to evaluate the truth of this claim, it would be great to hear it.

    Wishing on a star” is a form of prayer, praying that all the children in the world can be cured is a positive thought process but then how would the scientist/ doctors find vacines to keep the other half from being sick?

    Doctors don’t need sick children to help them develop vaccines.

  10. Now that you mention it, Robert, I would be willing to undergo/be a part of a scientific experiment in which I prayed for one group and not another to achieve a certain thing. Looking at whether prayer can affect an outcome.

    Also, I don’t doubt that people of other religions experience miracles through prayer and other acts of faith. God moves on their behalf, as well, not just for Christians.

  11. My prayer is a prayer of thanks giving for such a wonderful husband and the blessing of being able to include many people into our circle of family. I am thankful for love, in every form it comes.

    I can’t wait to see my husband and baby on the 30th.
    You don’t have to publish this one.

    God bless Africa!

Leave a Reply

