En Route

I’m in Springfield, Missouri right now. Almost halfway through my drive from New York City to Los Angeles. Here are some things I’ve learned in the last week:

1. While moving, just because you keep saying, “Oh, I don’t have that much stuff” over and over doesn’t make it true. We all have too much stuff.

2. This is a beautiful continent, and we’re lucky to be able to drive across it for free*.

3. *Tolls are a part of interstate driving, especially on the east coast. A dollar here, 50 cents there, cool. But on one stretch of the Pennsylvania Turnpike, they hit me for $18.35. I’m still scratching my head on that one.

4. I need my wife. She’s in South Africa for another week. Can’t wait to have her back, um, fully supporting her man.

5. At 19 months, my son is a certified lady killer. I didn’t learn how to smile like that until I was 26.  Must teach him to use his powers for good.

6. Moving out of a 3-story walk up then spending a few days driving is enough to make your back hurt.

7. Prayer still works for everything from back pain to traveling mercy.

8. I would probably eat french fries everyday if I had the chance, and that can’t be good for you.

9. Towing a 1 ton trailer significantly lowers your gas mileage and alters your budget, but what can you do? Just keep going in the direction you’ve chosen, and one way or another, you’ll make it.

10. If I had another opportunity to drive across country, I’d take it. And, I’d bring along a digital camera next time!

4 responses to “En Route

  1. Interesting points you make. I bet seeing the country from the road is something else. It is a beautiful country and we should be more grateful for where we live. Though it’s easy to complain about bad politics, high prices and a recession that is unforgiving, we should thank God that we aren’t in another country where things can be considerably worse.

  2. hi SETH!

    your baby will most certainly use his powers for good, if you teach him to…

    I lvoe driving cross country. I’ve lost count how many times I’ve driven from one place to another. new mexico to new jersey, colorado to new jersey.

    we do live in a beautiful country. I need a digital camera too. maybe I’ll get one for my birthday….

    sorry your back hurts. trucks are never comfrotable. meh.

    what do you mean by “Fully supporting her man”? is she some kind of BRA for you????

    love, anna

  3. Anna,

    “Fully supporting her man” was a thinly-veiled reference to love-making, which is a euphemism for sex, which is just a nice way of saying that I really miss…you get the point.

  4. first, let me say, i commend you for making that drive! i’ve lived in L.A. all my life and i can’t stand the drive to Las Vegas (4 hrs)…i’d rather catch a 54 min flight 🙂

    @ nos. 2 and 3- oh the irony!

    @ no. 5- your son is quite the mini ladies’ man; did you see him in action during “Operation Shoebox?”

    @ no. 8- i USED to eat fries almost everyday…i have never driven cross-country so there was no excuse (lol)

Leave a Reply

