Power in Jesus’ Name

“You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.”–John 14:14

Growing up in church, people would always talk about how “there is power in the name of Jesus.”

That never meant anything to me until one day in 2002 when I was playing HORSE with fellow peace corps volunteer in Haiti. (HORSE is a basketball game where you have to make the same shot your opponent made or else you get a letter. Five letters and you lose.) 

I was at HORS, just about to lose, and he made a shot from about 50 feet away. If you don’t know about basketball, a 50 foot shot is highly improbable. The best pros might hit it once in 10 tries.

Anyway, he made it, and now I had to make it or else I would lose the game. Right as I took my shot I said, “Jesus Christ.” Not out of frustration or anger, I was calmly invoking the name of Jesus in a time of need. Sure enough, I hit the shot. My confidence skyrocketed while my opponent’s plummeted, and I went on to beat him.

Admittedly, this was a small, insignificant victory in the grand scheme of things. But at the time, I really wanted to win, and I also really wanted to believe that there was power in Jesus’ name. Now I’m convinced.

Know that when you call on Jesus, he will answer. Do it with concentration and focus, but more importantly, do it with humility. Yes, the name has all the power of a good luck charm and more, but it’s not about getting what you want all of the time. It’s ultimately about becoming more like Christ and making the world a better place. Give it a try and let me know how it goes. I pray that you receive the desires of your heart today, In Jesus’ name.

2 responses to “Power in Jesus’ Name

  1. It was Tom Herhusky. Not sure if you remember him. I think he played college ball. He beat me plenty of times, but that one improbable victory sticks out in my mind.

Leave a Reply

