The Danger of Comfort

I’ve only been here for 2 weeks, but I can safely say that being Senior Pastor of Zion Hill Baptist Church in L.A. is by far the best job I’ve ever had. Sure, the pews were mostly empty when I got here and the building needs hundreds of thousands of dollars of repairs. So what? The people are really kind, plus I have my own office with a TV, couch, and bathroom! In addition, there’s an indoor basketball court on the premises. How many people have a spiritual leader who can dunk?

Comfort can be a dangerous thing if you let yourself get too caught up in it. This building, though very nice, was not created for me. Rather, I believe I was created for it. To leave it better than I found it. But even more important than the building are the people who occupy it. And just as important as them are all the hundreds and thousands of souls who will join the Zion Hill family under my watch. People who are looking for a greater understanding of the Bible, people looking to grow spiritually and find meaning for their lives, people who need to be healed, people who need a parking lot where one has never existed….

So, I’m grateful for the way members around here tend to do exactly what I say. I’m grateful that they can afford to pay me enough to feed, clothe, and shelter me and my babies. And I’m grateful for the way the candy dish and office supplies on my desk seem to magically replenish themselves. It’s all really cushy. But most of all, I’m grateful for the work. At the end of the day, I could do the work without any of those comforts.

7 responses to “The Danger of Comfort

  1. dunk?! i don’t know too many people that can say that about their pastor…go Pastor P! (lol)

  2. All I can say, I knew we had the right pastor, when I saw you dance the cha cha… So excited of the break through that is too come…..

  3. We, the Zion Hill Church Family, are on the plane, in first-class with seatbelts on and ready for take off…to the next level.
    We are honor to take this journey with you and your family…with the Lord watching over us.

Leave a Reply

