Flashes of Greatness

There’s a certain NBA player who is extremely skilled, but I just can’t bring myself to be his fan because I get the feeling he is an underachiever.

He has always had solid statistics, but one night early in his career, he exploded for 37 points, and also had highs in rebounds and steals, leading his team to a hard-fought victory. As soon as the game was over, he turned to his coach and told him: “Do NOT expect that kind of performance from me every night!”

We all have flashes of greatness from time to time. The unfortunate thing is that we are satisfied with the rare flash. “Even a broken clock is right twice a day,” we figure. Sometimes, we just get lucky, but those rare moments of excellence and genius can’t be duplicated regularly, can they?

“I’m glad you liked my article, but I couldn’t possibly write one every week.”

“Please don’t ask me to dance.”

“Last month’s sales were abnormally high, but now it’s back to normal.”

“Remember that poem I wrote back in `94. Talk about inspired!”

“Sure I did it once, but all the planets were aligned or something. Trust me, I suck, and everyone who knows me knows it’s true.”

Nelson Mandela says we are more afraid of success than we are of failure. The flash of greatness is not supposed to be a fleeting moment of satisfaction in an otherwise crappy existence. It comes to show you what you truly are capable of. 

The next time serendipity allows you to exceed your own expectations, do everything you can to keep the ball rolling.

2 responses to “Flashes of Greatness

  1. Wow,
    “The flash of greatness is not supposed to be a fleeting moment of satisfaction in an otherwise crappy existence”-That is true in every sense. I for one knows that I am open to try anything that would lead to my success, however the more I try and fail the more I start to sense that I am losing my mind(maybe the success I longed for doesn’t really exist or maybe I did something so bad in my past life that Karma won’t allow me to achieve this greatness we call success).lol.
    ” Keeping the ball rolling” is easier said than done especially when you’re lacking motivation. Another Great Post Pastor!

  2. hi – I think Nelson Mandela was quoting a longer piece from Marianne Williamson. but the sentiment is good. awesome even.

    thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

