Big Picture Analysis

I was sitting in some conference last month and the speaker pointed out that some of the most stressful things that can happen to you are:

-Having a parent die

-Starting a new career

-Moving to a new city

-Having a baby

It wasn’t until that moment that I realized that all four of those things happened to me in 2009.

He didn’t mention “standing powerless while your wife regularly reminds you she has no health insurance for the first half of the pregnancy,” but trust me, that can add to the stress level.

At least I made it through the year without getting struck by lightning…

The point is, I didn’t realize in the midst of it all that I had so many stresses piling on me, but in retrospect, it explains a lot.

If I had taken a step back and looked at all that was happening at the same time, maybe I would have been a little easier on myself and everyone else.

From time to time, we have to look at the big picture of our lives. Pastoring a church, it’s easy to get caught up in the week to week duties of writing sermons, teaching, administration, visiting, phone calls, and everything else, not to mention personal business and being a decent father and husband.

But I can’t be too busy with all of that to work on a vision for the church. Same with a family. Same with stress. Take a step back sometimes from the details and analyze the big picture. That’s the only way to change it.

2 responses to “Big Picture Analysis

  1. I enjoy what you said and I agree, I really need to do that for myself just maybe I will feel a little better ,and make a change for the better in my life.

  2. This article was very insightful. The list of facts about Mr. Thomas’s life should help bring new depth to the discussions that take place about him among the black community. This serves as another reminder for me to “know a person’s story before judging the persons character”. After reading the post I’m more confused and intrigued about his personality that ever. I need to review the book as well.

    Thanks again,

    M

Leave a Reply

